Synthetic example
Synthetic example: Buyer report
Synthetic example. The same software produced this report from invented documents for an invented condominium, for the year 2099. Every figure, name and number in it is invented. It describes no real building, unit or person.
Download this synthetic example as a PDF Start a Buyer check
Synthetic example
FRC / FEE & RESERVE CHECKBUYER REPORT
What the documents mean for your purchase.
Synthetic Condominium Corporation No. 9999 / Suite 201 / 2099 fiscal year
Budget and study: 2099 / Work schedule read: 2099 only / Audited to December 31, 2098
WHAT TO CLARIFY BEFORE YOU BUY
Before deciding, ask how the board plans to close the $103,020 gap between this year's reserve contribution and the study.
The 2099 annual reserve contribution is $103,020 below the study's plan. The budget says no special assessment is proposed; that does not cover one already levied.
A comparison of documents, not a recommendation to buy or not to buy.
What the documents show
$810.76
Monthly payment, suite 201
Includes a $19.61 temporary charge
$2,810,000
Major work listed, 2099 only (2100 to 2103 not read)
For the whole corporation
$103,020
2099 annual reserve contribution below the study
$200,000 budgeted, $303,020 recommended
None proposed
Special assessments
Budget only. Approved or unpaid ones not covered; no status certificate supplied
Concerns and open questions
2099 reserve contribution $103,020 below the study
Every unit carries a share. How it is closed is not stated. (S1 p. 1; S2 p. 1)
Garage roof slab waterproofing: $950,000 in 2099
The largest work planned soonest. Ask if it is contracted, delayed or done. (S2 p. 3)
Levied assessments not checked
The budget says none is proposed; that does not cover any already levied. (S1 p. 2)
No condition report supplied
The building's physical condition is not assessed here.
Synthetic example
The building, the money, and what to ask.
The nearest work, the funding, and three questions that could change your decision.
Reserve funding this year
Budget$200,000
Study$303,020
$103,020 a year less than the study.
Sources: S1 p. 1; S2 p. 1
Reserve outlook
The study's projection stays above zero; lowest $58,020 (end of 2099).
This chart assumes the reserve contributions in the study. The 2099 budget contributes $103,020 less.
| Year | Balance |
|---|---|
| 2098 | $152,000 |
| 2099 | $58,020 |
Source: S2 p. 5. The study's figures, not a forecast by this report.
Three questions for the seller, management or your lawyer
Has the board adopted a funding plan that replaces the study's $303,020 reserve contribution for 2099, or does it plan to close the $103,020 gap?
Does the status certificate disclose any special assessment, levied or approved, and any arrears on the unit?
Is the garage roof slab waterproofing work ($950,000, 2099) contracted, delayed or done?
Synthetic example
The building in detail.
Planned replacements are not evidence that something has failed.

Location 1: Underground garage
2099 / $1,130,000
The parking levels below ground. "Roof slab waterproofing" is the waterproof layer on the concrete slab that forms the garage's roof (the study lists it under "Underground Parking Garage"). Study items: Roof Slab Waterproofing System; Parking Garage Painting.
Location 2: Windows, balconies and walls
2099 / $780,000
The outside walls, windows and balconies. Study items: Window Replacement - Phase 1; Balcony Concrete Repairs.
Location 3: Roof
2099 / $700,000
The roof covering that keeps water out of the building. Study items: Main Roofing System.
Location 4: Fan-coil units
2099 / $160,000
The heating and cooling units inside the suites. Study items: Fan Coil Unit Replacement.
Source: Reserve Fund Study, p. 3. Every item behind these amounts is in the full list at the end.
What the documents do not tell us
These are the study's estimates for 2099 only (2100 to 2103 not read), not contractor quotes. The documents do not confirm that the scheduled work was contracted or completed. No engineering or building-condition report was supplied, so the condition of these parts is not described. The study also sets aside $40,000 of contingency, a financial allowance shown on no part of the building.
Synthetic example
Follow the money.
The yearly contribution and the reserve balance answer different questions.
1. How much goes into the reserve each year?
The 2099 budget$200,000
The Reserve Fund Study, for 2099$303,020
Source: Budget, p. 1; Reserve Fund Study, p. 1.
$103,020 a year less than the study
The reserve contribution is what the corporation puts into the reserve fund each year. The balance is what the fund holds at a point in time.
2. How could the reserve balance change?
The Reserve Fund Study's own projection of the year-end balance, 2098 to 2099.
This chart assumes the reserve contributions in the study. The 2099 budget contributes $103,020 less.
| Year | Balance |
|---|---|
| 2098 | $152,000 |
| 2099 | $58,020 |
Starting point: $152,000 at the end of 2098, as the study projects it.
Contributions, spending, interest and inflation are the study's own assumptions. This report does not change or extend them.
This is the study's projection, not a forecast by this report or a decision by the board. Positive balances alone do not establish long-term adequacy.
Source: Reserve Fund Study, p. 5.
$152,000
Reserve fund balance on December 31, 2098, from the audited statements
Up from $100,000 at the start of that year. A past balance. It does not show what the fund holds today or whether it is enough.
Source: Audited Financial Statements, p. 1.
Synthetic example
The next five years in detail.
Estimated project spending for the whole corporation, not a charge to one unit.
$2.81 million
Listed estimates for 2099 only (2100 to 2103 not read), exactly $2,810,000, of which $40,000 is contingency. Years the schedule does not reach are not established, not $0.
- $2.81 million
2099
Garage and 3 more
- Not established
2100
Not covered by the schedule read
- Not established
2101
Not covered by the schedule read
- Not established
2102
Not covered by the schedule read
- Not established
2103
Not covered by the schedule read
These are estimates for the whole corporation, paid over time from the reserve fund. They are not charges to one unit, and a project price alone does not show whether an extra payment will be needed.
The schedule also lists 11 items for 2096 to 2098, before 2099; whether that work was done is not stated. See the full list at the end.
Synthetic example
The evidence behind the numbers.
The documents, what was read from them, and how each amount was worked out. You do not need to read this section to understand the main result.
Documents read
- S1
Budget 2 pages; used: pp. 1, 2
2099 reserve contribution $200,000; a disagreement or ambiguity discussed in this report; statement on special assessments. Text read.
- S2
Reserve Fund Study 5 pages; used: pp. 1, 3, 5
2099 reserve contribution $303,020; schedule of major work: 18 items, 2096 to 2099; year-by-year balance projection. Text read.
- S3
Unit Fee Schedule 1 page; used: p. 1
Monthly payment $810.76 for suite 201. Text read.
- S4
Audited Financial Statements 1 page; used: p. 1
Reserve balance $152,000 on December 31, 2098. Text read.
Text read means the software read the words on the pages. Read by text recognition means the pages were scanned images and the software recognized the words on them. Neither guarantees that every table in a document was read.
Check the calculation
Reserve difference: $303,020 - $200,000 = $103,020 a year.
Assumptions
- Amounts are in Canadian dollars, as the documents state them. No interest, inflation or later decision is added.
Where the documents disagree or are unclear
- Owners' yearly fees and total revenue are different figures, not a conflict: "Maintenance Fees 949,380" is what owners are charged; "TOTAL REVENUE $972,912" also counts other revenue lines ($23,532 more). This report uses the owners' line (Budget, p. 1).
What was not established
- No engineering or building-condition report was uploaded, so this report does not describe the building’s current condition. The Reserve Fund Study was used for its plan and costs; any condition notes it contains were not assessed, and it is not a physical inspection.
- Work after 2099: the schedule that was read lists nothing later, which does not show that none is planned.
How to use this report
What this report uses
- Software made this report from the documents you supplied. No person has checked it.
- It uses only those documents. A risk that is not mentioned may still exist.
- When documents differ, the report says so. If the documents show which figure applies, the report uses it and says why. If not, it does not choose.
- A figure the documents do not establish is shown as not established.
What it does not do
- It is not legal advice or legal representation. It is not an audit, an engineering opinion, a reserve fund study, or accounting or tax advice.
- It does not say whether to buy.
- It is not a home inspection or emergency help. It does not judge the building's condition or safety.
- If this report shows no safety warning, that does not mean the building is safe.
- It does not predict board decisions, special assessments or fee increases.
- It does not check whether the operating budget is enough to run the building.
Access and help
Questions about this report: help@condoowneradvocate.ca. Support does not interpret the result or give advice.
Appendix: all scheduled work
For reference. Every item read from the Reserve Fund Study. You do not need to read this appendix to understand the report.
18 items from the Reserve Fund Study, in the years it plans them. Estimates for the whole corporation.
| Year | Item | Estimate | Page |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2096 | Main Roofing System | $655,317 | p. 3 |
| 2096 | Contingency | $40,000 | p. 3 |
| 2097 | Roof Slab Waterproofing System | $900,000 | p. 3 |
| 2097 | Balcony Concrete Repairs | $220,000 | p. 3 |
| 2097 | Parking Garage Painting | $180,000 | p. 3 |
| 2097 | Fan Coil Unit Replacement | $150,000 | p. 3 |
| 2097 | Contingency | $40,000 | p. 3 |
| 2098 | Window Replacement - Phase 1 | $500,000 | p. 3 |
| 2098 | Parking Garage Painting | $190,000 | p. 3 |
| 2098 | Contingency | $40,000 | p. 3 |
| 2098 | Roof Slab Waterproofing System | $30,000 | p. 3 |
| 2099 | Roof Slab Waterproofing System | $950,000 | p. 3 |
| 2099 | Main Roofing System | $700,000 | p. 3 |
| 2099 | Window Replacement - Phase 1 | $520,000 | p. 3 |
| 2099 | Balcony Concrete Repairs | $260,000 | p. 3 |
| 2099 | Parking Garage Painting | $180,000 | p. 3 |
| 2099 | Fan Coil Unit Replacement | $160,000 | p. 3 |
| 2099 | Contingency | $40,000 | p. 3 |
